Author
Old photos of Kamen-na-Obi, Altai Krai
Coat of arms Kamen-na-Obi

Cities of the World | Cities of the Russia | List of cities of Altai Krai

History of city Kamen-na-Obi, Altai Krai in photos

A small historical reference

Stone on Obi - Center Kamensky district of the Altai Territory, situated in the north of the region, on the left bank of the Ob River, just above the beginning of the Novosibirsk reservoir. Date of foundation and the first written mention - 1751. Previous name - Stone (rus: Kamen) (up to April 10, 1933). The city history begins with the founding of the cargo wharf and with the merger of several small villages to start transportation of large quantities of grain. In 1912 year the turnover of trade in the village of Stone took 4th place in the Tomsk province after Tomsk, Barnaul and Novonikolaevsk.

Sightseeing - in 1930 without a single nail was built a unique structure "Mastodon" - the largest wooden granary of the world's 13 000 tonnes.

Date of foundation: 1751. Town status - 1915.

Population: 41 787

Kamen-na-Obi. Panorama of the city
Panorama of the city

 
Kamen-na-Obi. Main Street, 1912
Main Street, 1912

 
Kamen-na-Obi. Granary 'Mastodon'
Granary "Mastodon"

 
Kamen-na-Obi. Residential house of merchant Khomutov, 1911
Residential house of merchant Khomutov, 1911

 

Photos posted on the website in accordance with Article 7, paragraph 1 of the Berne Convention for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works of 9 September 1886, the term of protection which is fifty years after the author's death.

After this period photos it becomes public domain. The participants of the Berne Convention are 167 States.


Robinson Rd, CB 13862 Nassau, NP, The Bahamas
Flag Counter